Kia Ora!

Welcome to the Manaaki Rotorua registration site, our unique for Rotorua by Rotorua  customer service and destination training program, launched 31 October 2018 - the day the Rotorua community welcomed the Duke & Duchess of Sussex. 

  • So How Does it Work Exactly?

  • The background to the logo, what is Manaaki Rotorua, how will it benefit your business, who is behind it, what other aspects are provided to participants and finally how do I sign up and what's the process.

So How Does it Work Exactly?

The background to the logo, what is Manaaki Rotorua, how will it benefit your business, who is behind it, what other aspects are provided to participants and finally how do I sign up and what's the process.

Acknowledgements

Manaaki Rotorua is a for Rotorua - by Rotorua hospitality, training and destination ambassador program that would simply not be possible without the support of a number of Rotorua entities and individuals whom have assisted in making this program truly reflective of our place, our people and our stories.  Accordingly we would like to acknowledge the genuine support and collaboration with the following organisations, businesses and individuals.

Content Contributors 

Te Taumata o Ngāti Whakaue Iho-Ake (Bryce Murray, Norma Sturley & Roana Bennett and her team) - Tourism Training Solutions (Andy Corson) - Ad Māori (Inia Maxwell) - Destination Rotorua - Dr. Paul Tapsell (Te Ara Encyclopedia of New Zealand) - Air New Zealand (Henare Johnson) - Ben Manley (Ngāti Whakaue Researcher) and the writings of the late Don Stafford.

Image Acknowledgements

In association with Destination Rotorua, numerous Rotorua operators, businesses and community groups we acknowledge the Alexander Turnbull Library,  Te Whare Tāonga o Te Arawa and as well as a number of our amazingly talented local photographers whom in their own way capture the beauty, exhilaration and serenity of our place and its people.  These include; Chester Boyes - chesterboyes.com | Mark Coker - @markcoker | Adrian Hodge - adrianhodge.photography | Nick Lambert - nicklambert.co.nz | Graeme Murray - graememurray.com | Meade Norton - meadnorton.com | Mark Smith - marksmith.nz  Special thanks to Te Puia | NZMACI for use of the emotikis. 

Program Enablers

The Manaaki Rotorua program has been coordinated by Rotorua Tourism champion Oscar Nathan through the auspice of Māori in Tourism Rotorua (Incorporated) and is a key step towards proactive management of the Rotorua experience - underpinned by funding from Rotorua Economic Development Limited and the Hospitality Training Trust, with support also provided by the NZ Māori Tourism.